Greg Prince: Charming the Fifth Grade.

June 4, 2009

Greg Prince, Hutchings Elementary

Greg Prince, Hutchings Elementary

“Kids can learn and have fun at the same time…”

Howell graduate Greg Prince has taught 5th grade during his 14 year career in Howell Public Schools. Currently at Hutchings Elementary, Greg says his job is more fun than it is work. “I think that school should be fun! Kids can learn and have fun at the same time.”

Mr. Prince didn’t always know what he wanted to be when he grew up. Then, a college friend told him he would make a great elementary teacher. “The rest is history. I feel like I’m doing what I was meant to do!”

As a 5th grade teacher, Greg teaches all subjects but especially enjoys Science and Social Studies. “I love to learn new things and I try to convey that to the kids.  There are so many cool things out there to study and learn, and I encourage them to be life-long learners.”
A very important message Mr. Prince promotes to his students is: You never know what you can do until you try. “Kids need to feel relaxed in the classroom where they aren’t afraid to take risks, yet know the boundaries and expectations you have set.”

Outside of the classroom, Mr. Prince works on many school-wide projects to energize students in their learning. For March is Reading Month at Hutchings, he created a motivational film series using a Star Wars theme to encourage kids to read. Mr. Prince is well-known for building community in his school. “I’ve been fortunate to work with great people.  I’ve learned so much from my colleagues over the years and have made great friendships.”

Greg’s proudest moment as an educator is learning how his previous students are progressing as they grow into young adults. “I keep in touch with many (former students) and it’s always great to hear how they are doing.  Even though I only taught them for one year, it’s nice to think you made a positive impact on their lives.”

Leave a comment